Skip to content

An Evolutionist’s Intellectual Amends with God

February 11, 2010

I am not a religious man at all, so I also do not believe that God exists.  The debate between evolutionists and creationists only fuels division among people, serving one interest or another.  This division is what led me to write this article and decide to take a step forward, beyond the interpretative wall of our beliefs.

Evolution is a process that took an unimaginable amount of time and an equally unimaginable number of transformations that eventually led to life as we know it.

Mathematicians have calculated the odds of life coming into existence, and for sure the results yield the possible conclusion that creationists might be right.

After all, everything in our known Universe is extremely precise – even when it appears to be chaotic – and organic life has such a complexity that the odds of it happening are ONE in infinity, so, mathematically speaking, it is nearly impossible to have appeared without a designer and creator originating it.

It seems to me that evolutionists have to accept the unbelievable odds that life just evolved out of nothing, and allow the possibility that something or someone might have designed and created it.  Creationists too, have to accept that even ONE chance in an infinite number of possibilities, represents a viable possibility that can render their theories null.

Although it appears that the two camps operate from a different perspective, they both use analytical skills to make their point and it all comes down to possibilities and probabilities – a realm of mathematics – and let’s admit it, both camps are unable to offer a definitive answer to the question whether we evolved or we were created.

To divide an entire species over something that we do not actually know is highly manipulative, functionally speaking – counter-productive, and, morally speaking – entirely wrong.  Fueling this phenomenon of social division is as illogical as it would be to have two horses tied on both ends of a carriage, pulling in opposite directions.

The reality is that the “horses” will never stop pulling.  The solution is in the “carriage,” or in our case, us.  We, the people, are the solution.  If for instance, the carriage were to be extremely heavy, neither horse would be able to pull it.  Socially speaking, “heavy” would be equivalent to coherent or unified by a common element that would grant humankind a certain density of common sense.

I can accept the possibility that a creator is responsible for our existence because it does not really matter to me if I evolved into a human being or if I am the result of a primordial and divine creation.  What matters more – at this particular moment – is what I do with this life, rather than where it came from.

If God created everything, including life and myself, then God also must have had a creator as well, because to believe that GOD JUST IS, makes absolute no sense whatsoever, regardless of how we look at it.  The assumption and its consequent statement that “God just is” can only be defined as an easy cop-out that creationists should avoid if they were to meet evolutionists half way.  Consequently, if the God that created everything was also created, then it generates an infinite line of logical arguments that would only end in paralysis by analysis for any evolutionist.

I propose a simple approach to the predicament of evolution versus creation.  If you are an evolutionist, simply choose to transfer value onto the life at hand, in a functional, active, way.  If you are a creationist, then let it be as such.  If God created everything, it did so in a way that also allowed the possibility of evolution, so choose to transfer value onto what you do with the life you have now.

Regardless of evolution or creation, our existence has value in itself, a value measured in what we do, not in what we believe in.

My conclusion can only be a question:

How much longer are we going to waste our energy in dividing interpretation, as opposed to uniting in the functional research and exploration of our potential?

Copyright 2010 by Bogdan Heretoiu

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 1:27 am

    Hello. I just needed to make you aware that some components of your website are onerous to read for me, as I am color blind. I am a sufferrer of protanopia, however there are other varieties of color blindness that may also experience issues. I can understand the majority of the web page Okay, and the areas I have problems with I can comprehend by using a special browser. Just the same, it would be great if you can remember we color-blind people whilst doing the next site re-working. Thanks.

    • March 31, 2010 12:49 pm

      Hello, unfortunately I am the one creating my webpages and I am not at all an HTML expert, so I have no idea how to fix this issue. What I can do is check into it and figure out what are the options.. Thank you for bringing it up – I learn something everyday – and I am really sorry for the inconvenience.

  2. Easmanie Michel permalink
    March 15, 2010 2:06 pm

    Wow Boghan, What a wonderful article! It bring to mind Eckhart Tolle “The Present Moment.” I hope all is well with you. Cheers Easmanie

    • March 15, 2010 4:57 pm

      Hi Easmanie :)

      Thanks for stopping by and reading..but, you must also now that I consider Eckhart Tolle to be a speculator of hope, rather than the guru he appears to be. Most of what he says is – often – word by word coming from a man named J. Krishnamurti, an incontestable genius of our times who probably would turn in his grave if that was remotely possible…considering what his mission was, and what some people do with his ideas.

      Hope you’ll read my book and let me know what you think then :)

      Hope all is well with you as well, and that you keep the passion for film alive.
      Cheers,
      Bogdan

  3. Barry Lask permalink
    April 26, 2010 10:01 pm

    Hi

    I want to look a bit closer at,the statement that” god just is.”
    I’m not looking to reate a divivion amongst people, But what I am going to say must be said.

    the constant tug and pull , backward and forward, the debate on our being continues.

    within the framework of the entire universe/universes this manifested tug of war has its place, indeed all that exists too has its place in the all. because this is just the way it is, it could be said that it just is,

    for me too , god just is,
    not soley abstract
    and not soley pysical
    both formed and formless.

    it seems to me that the creater of the created is in the creation itself.completely eternal and only half viewed when seen through analytical and chronological eyes.

    but when seen through a transient medium, the picture begins to materialise. and it is perfect and complete.

    time ceases to hold its illusionary facination.

    and we see how time is realy just a measure for where you came , are , and will be, because time really is just the measure of movement between two points.

    I have so much more to say, but prehaps not now.

    suffice to say “evolutionary exploration” just is

    • April 28, 2010 6:55 pm

      Hi Barry, thank you for your comment. As far as I am concerned, to state about something – anything – that “just is” represents a statement of “knowing”. Since we actually do not really KNOW that god is or it is not, to state its existence is illogical and untrue, and based only on individual belief and partial observation of the universe. I say partial, because we cannot, yet, have a complete view over everything (whatever that “complete” might mean).

      My take on the existence or non-existence of God is a practical approach, hopefully closer to functionality, in a natural sense of functionality. Regardless of the belief, I choose to research from a practical perspective, because I can.

      Yes, “Evolutionary Exploration” just is, much like everything else, IF we look at everything from a disconnected way.. Otherwise, nothing “just is”, instead, everything is as a result of something else, and as an origin for something else also.

      Also, as far as I am concerned, there is no time. What we call time is a complex mix of concepts, relative measurements and instruments, and a particular characteristic of how how our brain works.

      Looking forward to more comments from you,
      Bogdan

      • Barry Lask permalink
        April 29, 2010 6:48 am

        Hi Bogden

        thank you for your response, I love it.

        i dont want this to be a comment or a response to what you have just written, Instead I would like to pull your attention to something else . “our journey” as a species, from the outset till its conclusion.

        if you could share with me how you perceive this.

        within any drop of water,still deeper into atomic structures there is much movement at mind staggering speeds.

        to us the drop appears still, almost serene.

        within the above framework, I seek help in identifying with ourselves.

        as I go about my day perceiving the world around me,I am to say the least perplexed.

        I have begun to feel the world in a very different kind of way, a way devoid of conflict and full of acceptance. and i have begun to wonder.

        Where are we headed? what are we choosing for ourselves?
        why is it ok that our kids come home from school with such anger in their hearts why is it ok for them to be at each others throats. what are we teaching our kids about life ? and who is taking resposibility for it?.

        we create so many laws, yet still it continues.

        we are the human being, and we are remarkable.
        so too is our destination.

        Thanks Bogden.

        Barry

        Ps I think your Books are spectacular

  4. April 30, 2010 7:02 pm

    Hello Barry,

    First, thank you for your compliment on my books. Spectacular is a big word, maybe too big, but it gives me a good feeling to know that you find the content useful in one way or another. Feel free to share your thoughts about it with your friends :)

    Regarding your question about the “journey”, I feel that I must point out that my use of the word “journey” (when I use it) has two reasons. One, is a good word that reflects my life and my pleasure in taking journeys of various kinds. Second, is a word that maybe will reflect someday our view – as humans – about our life.

    A journey is “supposed” to be fun, filled with learning experiences, new experiences, growth, problems and solutions approached through a constructive perspective…

    Otherwise, “journey” is just a word, maybe too new-agey and too overused by those “into spirituality.” I still like it, for the reasons explained above.

    It would also be illogical to disregard the natural phenomenology as observed in our known universe and not to take a good look at the very possible scenario that we, as a species, not only have a beginning, but we may also have a natural end – transformational or not.

    When we keep “track” of our immortality, or to say it more directly of our quickly approaching death as mortals, then everything else can be seen from a much more profound perspective…and we can sense life’s worth much more accuracy and immediacy.

    The social conflicts you write of, especially with our kids, stem from our own lack of investment in their development. TIME, as many call it. We simply fell into the routine of a social machine that now will have to run its course. I personally see no bright future coming too soon, but I do see a great opportunity for the INDIVIDUAL growth, which in turn will reflect at a larger, social scale.

    Indeed we seem to be remarkable, yet, I am concerned that what truly could make us remarkable are our actions, not our mere presence in this shape and form, with a language and a thumb.

    Have a good weekend,
    Bogdan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

